General Mills Recalls Cheerios That May Contain Gluten

Cheerios Recall


HealthDay News

WEDNESDAY, Oct. 7, 2015 (HealthDay News)—Almost 2 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios have been recalled by General Mills Inc. because of an incident where wheat might have been introduced into products that were labeled gluten-free.

Cereals produced on certain dates in July at the company's Lodi, Calif., plant could trigger reactions in people with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance, the company said in a statement Monday.

"In an isolated incident involving purely human error, wheat flour was inadvertently introduced into our gluten-free oat flour system at Lodi," Jim Murphy, president of General Mills' cereal business, said in a statement on a company blog.

"This mistake occurred at just one plant, and the Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at our other plants were not affected," Murphy added.

The voluntary recall includes four days of production of Cheerios and 13 days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios, the company said.

Consumers with questions or concerns should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370, the company said.

Copyright © 2015 HealthDay. All rights reserved.

Published: October 2015

ADVERTISEMENT

The FDA Vaccine Approval Process

Watch this video to find out everything you need to know about how a vaccine is approved by the Federal Drug Administration

Created With Support

Anxious About Going out into the World? You’re Not Alone, but There’s Help

Deciding which of your normal activities you wish to resume and which to let go of helps you to prepare for the future

Your Health

At What Age Are People Usually Happiest? New Research Offers Surprising Clues

In an ongoing study, most of those interviewed seemed to recognize that they were happier in their 30s than they were in their 20s — but there are caveats

Science and Technology