Take charge of your health. Sign up for HealthyWomen newsletters:
Meet our Expert
Find out more about:
Dr. Cynthia Vaughn, DC

Dr. Cynthia Vaughn, DC

Doctor of Chiropractic
Austin, TX

Share on:

About The Expert

Dr. Cynthia Vaughn is a 1984 summa cum laude graduate of Los Angeles College of Chiropractic. She practices in Austin, Texas, with her husband, Dr. James Edwards, and is the proud mother of three wonderful children.

In 1997, Texas Governor George W. Bush appointed her to the Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners. In 2000, Governor Bush appointed her Board President where she served for three years. She has also served as the Texas State Delegate to the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners and the Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards.

In August 2002, Veterans Affairs (VA) Secretary Anthony Principi appointed Dr. Vaughn to the Veterans Affairs Chiropractic Advisory Committee, which was charged with advising the secretary on how best to implement chiropractic into the VA system. In January 2005, VA Secretary R. James Nicholson appointed her to the Advisory Committee on Chiropractic Care Implementation that is charged with oversight of the new chiropractic benefit.  

Dr. Vaughn served as vice president of the American Chiropractic Association in 2011-12 and as its East Texas Delegate from 2002-13. In addition to serving as chairman of both the ACA Clinical Documentation and Bylaws Committees, she was a member of the ACA Membership Executive Committee and is a former member of the ACA Coding and Reimbursement Committee.

In June 2007, she received the highest award from the TCA, the Keeler Plaque, and in September 2008, she received ACA's Delegate of the Year Award at its annual House of Delegates meeting. In August 2009, Dr. Vaughn was elected a member of the Parker College of Chiropractic’s Board of Trustees; in 2010, she was elected secretary; and in 2012, she was elected chairman of the board of trustees.

Currently, Dr. Vaughn serves as the secretary/treasurer of the Texas Chiropractic Association and is on the ACA Media Response Team.